Hood College - Men's Lacrosse

Brad Barber

Head Coach

Frederick native Brad Barber was elevated to head coach of the Hood College men’s lacrosse program in July 2013. In his five seasons as head coach, he has rebuilt the program into a competitor in the Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth.

The Blazers reached a milestone in 2018, when Hood finished 8-7. The win total not only tied the school record but gave Hood its first winning season in school history. The Blazers led the conference in clear percentage (.864) and fewest turnovers per game (15.93).

His 2017 team tied the school record with eight wins and placed four Blazers on the All-MAC Commonwealth team, the most in the history of the program. Hood tied the school record for wins with eight as the Blazers set program standards in goals (190), assists(102), points (292) and face-off percentage (.643).

During the 2016 season, Hood came within two goals of the school's single-season record with 134. Grayson Zubradt was named the Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Co-Rookie of the Year and Eddie Somerville was chosen to the all-conference second team.

The 2015 season saw his squad improve its win total again with six victories, the second most in school history. James Weger, Tai Foster and Joey McCulloh were named to the All-Commonwealth Conference team, the first time Hood had three players honored in one season. The squad's 10.25 goals against average was the second lowest for a Blazer squad. The special teams helped fuel the team's offense, as Hood's 20 man-up goals were just two shy of the school record.

In his first season, the Blazers posted a two-win improvement over the previous season and registered the first Commonwealth Conference win in program history with a 21-3 win over Alvernia. As a team, Hood scored 111 goals, the second most in school history. Defensively, the Blazers allowed the third fewest goals in school history (157). The squad also won 58 percent of its faceoffs (second). Weger and Randolph Clark were both named to the all-conference team, the first time in school history the Blazers gained multiple selections.

Barber served as a graduate assistant for the Blazers during the 2012 and 2013 seasons after completing his playing career at Division I Robert Morris University. Hood’s 2013 squad set a school record for faceoff percentage and produced the program’s first two all-conference selections.

Barber, the eighth head coach in program history at Hood, was hired at 23 years of age, tying him for the youngest coach in Division III at the time.

In high school, Barber was a four-year starter for the Tuscarora Titans. He continued his career as a reserve on defense at RMU, where he contributed to the growing success of the Colonials' program. In 2011, the Colonials posted a record of 9-7 and advanced to the inaugural Northeast Conference tournament as the No. 3 seed.

Barber has been actively involved in the lacrosse community, giving private lessons and volunteering with the Western Maryland Youth Lacrosse organization to help young athletes learn the game of lacrosse and to grow interest around the area.

Barber has coached with many high school level club programs to help young athletes work towards their goal of playing at the collegiate level. Most recently, Barber was a speaker at the 2013 U.S. Lacrosse Convention, where he spoke to over 150 youth and high school coaches about team and individual defense.

Barber graduated from Robert Morris in 2011 with a degree in sports management and earned his Masters of Business Administration from Hood in 2013.
Coaching Profile

    First Commonwealth Conference victory in program history.
    First winning season in program history.
    1 Conference Rookie of the Year
    4 All-MAC Commonwealth selections in 2017, most in school history.
    8 wins in 2018, tying the school record.
    11 All-conference selections
    16 wins in 2017-18, the best two-year stretch in program history.
    23 years old when hired, youngest head coach at a full-Division III institution.
    48 MAC Academic Honor Roll recipients